Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Paula Ewin

Paula Ewin, member of League of Professional Theatre WomenActress, Singer, Producer
New York, New York USA

Where do you look for inspiration? The beach

What’s your favorite book / movie / line from a play / pop culture guilty pleasure / cocktail? “Women in Love” D.H. Lawrence / Movie of the same title by Ken Russell / don’t really have a favorite line…/ manicure/pedicure with massage / Manhattan straight up…but only on special occasions…otherwise good old cabernet.

What play or production changed your life? A Taste of Honey. I played Jo in my senior year at Rhode Island College and was nominated for the ACTF Irene Ryan Award and won the Alternate for the New England scholarship in 1978. It was a bittersweet moment. I was so pleased to be acknowledged and yet would have loved to have won first prize…the scholarship. Then I realized that the real thrill was the rehearsal and performance of this play…it resonated with me on a very deep level. I had something really genuine that I could take with me as I went through my career.

Is there anything you still dream of doing? Traveling to Spain and Portugal and perhaps one day owning a dog (don’t tell my cat!)

I feel most like myself when I ….Sing! Even in the shower, but especially for an audience.

What is your best escape? Sleep. I have outrageous dreams!

What’s the one thing nobody knows about you? Oh you’re clever…not today!

Paula Ewin is a Founding Member of the award winning Off Broadway theatre 29th Street Rep, performing leading roles in 27 NY and World premieres since 1988.  Recently, the National Tour of “On Golden Pond” and “Tea at Five” (as Katharine Hepburn) at The Pasadena Playhouse.  Artistic Director of The Hive – The Women of 29th Street Rep.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

