Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Sherry Eaker

Sherry Eaker, member of the League of Professional Theatre WomenEditor, Writer, Producer
New York, New York USA

Collaboration is the key to working and being successful in this industry, and perhaps that’s what makes the theatre world so attractive to me. For every event and production that I work on, I look forward to working with a team that I can count on to inspire me to do better than I would ever imagine.

Producing an event or a play or musical is very similar to being an editor of a newspaper: Someone comes to the editor (aka producer) with an idea, and the editor puts together a team that will help develop and nurture this idea (copy editor, research editor, photo editor, graphic artist) and make it read and look its best when laid out on a page, just as a producer would collaborate, perhaps, with a dramaturg, director, and set, costume and lighting designers to bring a stage project to its fullest potential. It’s the developing of a project that I love best, seeing something develop from just a mere idea……

Is there anything that I still dream of doing? Attaining the “dreams” that I have is my goal….. making them into a reality.

I feel most like myself……when I’m on the dance floor! Music and dancing…a great escape!

Sherry Eaker is the producer of the annual Bistro Awards show, now in its 27th year, and is the former Editor-in-Chief of Back Stage (1977-2008). She compiled and edited the four editions of the “Back Stage Handbook for Performing Artists” and the “Cabaret Artists Handbook.” She serves on the board and/or is an advisor to a number of theatre-related organizations.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

