Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Paula McFetridge

Paula McFetridge, member of the League of Professional Theatre WomenArtistic Director – Kabosh, Director
Belfast IRELAND

My favorite book is ‘Grace Notes’ by Bernard McLaverty – a superb piece of work about a creative Belfast woman.

Amongst many theatrical experiences the memory of seeing the work of Welsh theatre company Brith Gof whilst at university is still inspirationally clear; it was site-specific, political, live and a multi-sensory experience. I had never seen anything like it before.

I still dream of doing a major site-specific multi-artform project on the former Maze/Long Kesh prison site on the outskirts of Belfast. I hope to create a unique theatrical event that will challenge preconceived ideas about the space and help people imagine new possibilities for this contested location.

I feel most at myself cradling a glass of red wine on the sofa after a creative day in the rehearsal room. In the company of my husband of course!

My best escape is in the company of my nephews and nieces – they have energy to burn and imaginations to enjoy.

Paula McFetridge has been Artistic Director of Kabosh, the only site-specific theatre company in the north of Ireland, since August 2006. She has directed a range of premiere productions in unusual locations including a moving black taxi, a synagogue, a barge, working city-centre shops, a spiegeltent and a former workhouse.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

