Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Elizabeth Hess

Elizabeth Hess, member of the League of Professional Theatre WomenPerformer, playwright, professor of acting
New York, New York USA

Where do you look for inspiration? I look to my dreams for inspiration – they are full of strange beauty.

What’s your favorite book? Love In The Time Of Cholera by Márquez was so exquisite that I slowed down my pace half way through reading it so as to savour its deliciousness.

What’s your favorite movie? Fannie and Alexander by Bergman – especially that moment when the door was open just a crack and the children witnessed their mother’s luxurious lament.

What play or production changed your life? I saw Kantor’s quasi-autobiographical play Wielopole, Wielopole at La Mama years ago – and afterwards stayed up all night writing one of my first plays.

Oh and the first time I visited New York I saw a piece of performative poetry by Maggie Beale that was magical. As was The Garden of Earthly Delights by Martha Clarke.

Is there anything you still dream of doing? I like to think of myself as an emerging artist – so there’s still lots and lots to do and the more it takes me out of my time and comfort zone the better!

Elizabeth Hess. International Festivals / Off-Broadway performances of solo trilogy; Living Openly & Notoriously. New York credits include The New Group, Women’s Project, Irish Arts, MTC and NYTW. She has also worked extensively in regional theaters. TV credits include Clarissa Explains It All; Law & Order. Film credits include: Handsome Harry, Soldier’s Heart. Ms Hess teaches at NYU & NTI. www.elizabethhess.net

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

