Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Week in Review, May 28-June 3, 2012


LPTW’s Blog30 was created to highlight the diversity, passion and brilliance of the individual members of the League of Professional Theatre Women in celebration of the organization’s 30th Anniversary. Every Sunday, the women featured in the previous six days, as well as three others from our first two months, receive a little more attention, a second chance for readers to learn about them. Sunday is often a day for reflection, offering the opportunity to catch up on the previous week’s activities. Now, the Week in Review gives our readers the opportunity to experience a week’s entries in one easy sitting. We hope you enjoy the latest addition to Blog30.

Memorial Day – no blog, May 28

My favorite guilty pleasure is that I can (and do) watch PRIDE & PREJUDICE every time it’s on. Which, thanks to cable, it always is. – Paula D’Alessandris, May 29

i learned how to balance embarrassment and purpose as i pranced around the stage in very little clothing in SWEET CHARITY in front of my Physics/Calculus teacher, Mr. Book (who was as by-the-book as his given name would indicate). – chandra thomas, May 30

I dream of making a theatre experience in Egypt – as we are a body-languaged people – to release our bodies from borders and tell what we really want to tell about ourselves. – Asmaa Yehia Eltaher, May 31

If one person stands up for someone else inside the theatre, then hopefully they will continue in real life. – KS Stevens, June 1

I have a hard time not working, but I love what I’m doing, so I really don’t need an escape. – Catherine Schreiber, June 2

From the Archives:
It exploded my notion of who I was in the world, or who I could be, and shed a stark light on the kinds of stories I wanted to hear and participate in telling. – Manda Martin, February 5

I am competitive with myself – and sometimes, others – always striving to do the right thing while trying to figure out what the right thing is.  – Julie Carpenter Sylvester, February 12

In an extremely organized fashion (I am a Virgo, after all), I methodically and avidly read all the biographies of African-American figures, and all the ones of women; not surprisingly, I was particularly interested in their stories. – Cheryl Davis, February 19

Melba LaRose (yes, that’s her real name) escaped to the West Coast in the ’70s in a full-length black velvet coat, hot pants, floppy hat, and ripped fishnets — the strangest thing that ever got off the bus. – Melba LaRose, February 26

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.