Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Week in Review, March 26 – April 1, 2012


LPTW’s Blog30 was created to highlight the diversity, passion and brilliance of the individual members of the League of Professional Theatre Women in celebration of the organization’s 30th Anniversary. Every Sunday, the women featured in the previous six days, as well as three others from our first two months, receive a little more attention, a second chance for readers to learn about them. Sunday is often a day for reflection, offering the opportunity to catch up on the previous week’s activities. Now, the Week in Review gives our readers the opportunity to experience a week’s entries in one easy sitting. We hope you enjoy the latest addition to Blog30.

I don’t think anyone knows I was a farm girl from Pelham, Georgia. The one thing I learned there was to get away as soon as possible. – Julia Miles, March 26

Whether the material will become a play or a novel I don’t yet know, but I feel I have a date with the idea. – Elsa Rael, March 27

I was present at the flowering of the Off Broadway theatre movement in New York and have remained strongly attached to the work of its pioneers and, very selectively, with exponents of experimental work. – Ruth Mayleas, March 28

For the past 20 years or so I always have 36 pairs of underwear – white cotton knit from Marks and Spencer (London) – Billie Allen, March 29

The stage seemed huge to my small body and surely a better playground than any I had ever visited. – Lenore DeKoven, March 30

[My favorite movie is] Roman Holiday starring Audrey Hepburn who is my role model in terms of elegance and classiness and a yearning for the unknown. – Tisa Chang, March 31

From the Archives:
I have been printing out the photos of the numerous women we have interviewed and each one in her own right deserves special recognition. – Harriet Slaughter, January 30

I was born into a family that prized creativity and the arts, where the pursuit of any artistic discipline was supported over acquiring property of any kind. – Joan D. Firestone, February 28

It’s the developing of a project that I love best, seeing something develop from just a mere idea…… – Sherry Eaker, January 27

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.