Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Archive for the day “April 29, 2012”

Week in Review, April 23 – 29, 2012


LPTW’s Blog30 was created to highlight the diversity, passion and brilliance of the individual members of the League of Professional Theatre Women in celebration of the organization’s 30th Anniversary. Every Sunday, the women featured in the previous six days, as well as three others from our first two months, receive a little more attention, a second chance for readers to learn about them. Sunday is often a day for reflection, offering the opportunity to catch up on the previous week’s activities. Now, the Week in Review gives our readers the opportunity to experience a week’s entries in one easy sitting. We hope you enjoy the latest addition to Blog30.

My best escape is to go walking in the Scottish Highlands – by mountains and loch-sides, wild and remote places of my homeland, with my friend Jenny. – Gerda Stevenson, April 23

Happily, these days, I find myself right in the midst of the theatre that changes my life everyday. – Anne Dunning, April 24

I am obsessed with unicorns (yes I admit I had those pastel and medieval posters all over my room when I was younger). – Natasha Lee Martin, April 25

Someday, when I am an old woman (besides wearing purple), I want to have a sheep farm, so I can card, spin and dye the wool and then knit and weave lots of beautiful things…and have a huge garden and a huge barn and a huge farm table and cook fabulous meals and have my closest friends over for dinner. All of the time. – Lisa Rothe, April 26

I still dream of owning a farm! – DeVida Jenkins, April 27

And in my heart, still a Brooklyn Dodgers fan. They’ll be back; nobody can live in LA forever. – Penny Landau, April 28

From the Archives:
Everyone knows me, because I’m an open book. – Mari Lyn Henry, January 23

The theater, after all, is about humanity, and all of us have it. – Cindy Cooper, January 31

The received wisdom is that women don’t reveal their age, but in my part of the world, I once read a statistic that said on average, woman here don’t live past 40, so for me, it is something to celebrate. – Mumbi Kaigwa, February 6

Post Navigation