Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Jessi D. Hill

Jessi D. Hill, member of the League of Professional Theatre WomenFreelance Director and Associate Artistic Director of terraNOVA Collective
New York, New York USA

Where do you look for inspiration?
I look for inspiration in conversations with playwrights I work with. Hearing what they’re working on and why they’re writing plays is inspiring. For myself, I often seek inspiration in my neighborhood. I live a hop, skip and jump from the Brooklyn Museum, Prospect Park and The Brooklyn Botanic Gardens. I visit one of these places almost every day.

What play or production changed your life?
In my early 20s I saw Tina Landau’s production of The Time of Your Life at Steppenwolf. It was a wonderfully acted, beautiful production that I’ll never forget (and I often think of).

Is there anything you still dream of doing?
I haven’t done nearly enough international travel and often daydream of strapping on a backpack and disappearing for months.

I feel most like myself when I ….
Am directing or hiking in the mountains of Colorado or running…

What’s the one thing nobody knows about you?
I wouldn’t say nobody but not everybody: I’m a runner and have been doing it more and more competitively over the last 5 years. I just registered for my second marathon. I try to run at least 30 miles a week.

Jessi D. Hill is a freelance director and Associate Artistic Director of terraNOVA Collective in New York. New play projects include work at The Women’s Project, New York Theatre Workshop, Primary Stages, The New Group, Culture Project, New Dramatists, The Lark, The Playwrights Realm, New Georges, and others. MFA Directing: Yale. SDC. Upcoming projects: www.jessidhill.com

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.