Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Jill BC Du Boff

Jill BC Du Boff, League of Professional Theatre Women memberSound Designer
New York, New York USA

Where do I look for inspiration? As a sound designer, music is really important to me, I try to listen to as much music as possible, which is also the most fun part of my job. I listen to the content, the mix and the feeling the music evokes. I find music to be inspirational.

Two plays changed my life, Poona The F**kdog and other plays for Children written by Jeff Goode and produced by the Adobe Theatre Company, and The Grey Zone by Tim Blake Nelson produced by MCC. Poona taught me how to really think outside of the box and how to invent sound and The Grey Zone taught me about subtlety and how powerful sound can be in live theatre.

My favorite ways to escape are running, reading and knitting. Sometimes listening to music, but only sometimes, since it can also feel like work.

My favorite book: The History of Love by Nicole Krause
Line from a play; “Come to my tent, we sing songs” Epic Proportions
Pop Culture Guilty Pleasure: The Simpsons
Cocktail: Dirty Vodka Martini

Jill BC Du Boff is a theatrical sound designer, her interests span film, television, radio, podcasts and audio tours. She has designed on Broadway and off as well as regionally and has received the Ruth Morley award from the LPTW, an Obie for Sustained Excellence in sound design and was nominated for two Drama Desk Awards. She will be marrying Adam Lerman on May 20th.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.