Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Lanie Zipoy

Lanie Zipoy, member of the League of Professional Theatre WomenProducer/Publicist
New York, New York USA

Where do you look for inspiration? My friends, the tennis court, theater

What’s your favorite book?  
In the Time of the Butterflies by Julia Alvarez tops my favorite books.

movie? I love the films, Earth As Seen from the Moon by Pasolini, Angela by Rebecca Miller, Simple Men by Hal Hartley and The City of Lost Children by Caro & Jeunet.

line from a play? “We Belong To Each Other.” — Mac Rogers’ Universal Robots

pop culture guilty pleasure? The Glades is one of my guilty pleasures. It’s sunny, slightly funny and doesn’t tax the brain. Love it.

cocktail? Margaritas. Good, delicious, mouth-watering margaritas make me happy.  I’m particularly a fan of guava and passionfruit.

What play or production changed your life? Justice Do It. A one-night only performance by fifth graders on Broadway in 1997. The New Jersey elementary students researched globalization and child labor, and then wrote an entertaining play about McDonald’s, Nike and other conglomerates based on their research. Their school’s principal deemed the work too controversial, and banned the students from performing it. Scott Ellis read about the student’s plight in the newspaper, offered to direct them and convinced Roundabout to produce the play for one night only. After hearing about the production’s background on NPR, I snagged a couple of tickets and thoroughly enjoyed watching the 10-year-olds hit their marks (and perform with glee). I will never forget that night.

Is there anything you still dream of doing? Going to the Australian Open.

I feel most like myself when I ….rollerskate or volunteer.

What is your best escape? Tennis. Playing, watching, and enjoying tennis.

What’s the one thing nobody knows about you? I did a lot of genetic research at major institutions in my teens. I wanted to be a scientist until I was subjected to listening to Rush Limbaugh all summer long in a lab I worked in.

Lanie Zipoy is the co-founder of Voices Inside/Out, an theatrical exchange program in prisons. Producer credits include: Universal Robots, 23 Feet in 12 Minutes, The Riverside Symphony. Lanie is a member of TRU’s Career Producers Group, and the NYIT Awards Honorary Awards Committee as well as a Huffington Post contributor.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.