Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Lisa Rothe

Lisa Rothe, member of the League of Professional Theatre WomenFreelance Director & Director of Offsite Programs & Partnerships at the Lark Play Development Center
New York, New York USA

Where do you look for inspiration? Travel, music, books, art, my friends, the people I love and admire…

What’s your favorite book? Possession by AS Byatt. I have never cried so hard, reading a book.

Favorite movie? Dancer in the Dark.

Favorite pop culture guilty pleasure? I totally like reading the trashy magazines at supermarket check-out counters.

Favorite cocktail? If I didn’t get migraines from them, I would drink dirty, dirty, dirty Bombay Sapphire martinis whenever I wanted.

Is there anything you still dream of doing? Someday, when I am an old woman (besides wearing purple), I want to have a sheep farm, so I can card, spin and dye the wool and then knit and weave lots of beautiful things…and have a huge garden and a huge barn and a huge farm table and cook fabulous meals and have my closest friends over for dinner. All of the time.

I feel most like myself when I...am in rehearsal. I love process so much. As much as I loved acting, I realized I just didn’t have the temperament for it when I was finished on opening night. I was so happy when I started directing and could leave after opening and move on to the next project!

What is your best escape? Driving. Anywhere.

What’s the one thing nobody knows about you? Well, some people know this, but I was a biomedical engineering major in college.

Favorite line from a play?
Septimus: “When we have found all of the mysteries and lost all of the meaning, we will be alone, on an empty shore.”
Thomasina: “Then we will dance.”
(Arcadia by Tom Stoppard)

Lisa Rothe has developed and directed over one hundred new plays, musicals and operas, and has taught and directed at many theatre programs including NYU’s Graduate Acting Program, Yale School of Drama and The Juilliard School. Affiliations: Drama League.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.