Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Olga de la Fuente

Olga de la Fuente, member of the League of Professional Theatre WomenWriter, shower singer
New York, New York USA

Where do you look for inspiration?
The characters in my family will always provide interesting stories. They’re surreal, like my country. But don’t tell them I said this.

What’s your favorite Book:
The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. It feeds the child inside me. It’s also filled with the most beautiful life lessons — my favorite being the one with the fox, who taught me the importance of rituals in life.

Favorite Movie:
Anything by Hayao Miyazaki. He’s got strong female characters, magical elements, a wild imagination, multidimensional villains, hand-drawn animation… What else do you need?

Favorite Line from a play:
“Cielos, si es verdad que sueño, suspendedme la memoria, que no es posible que quepan en un sueño tantas cosas.” Pedro Calderón de la Barca, La vida es sueño
(My apologies. I cannot find a decent translation.)

Favorite Pop culture guilty pleasure:
Watching America’s Next Top Model reruns. Tyra’s speech to the girl who’s going home never gets old.

Favorite Cocktail:
Mezcal, which is not really a cocktail.

What play or production changed your life?
La vida es sueño (Life is a dream), by Pedro Calderón de la Barca.

Is there anything you still dream of doing?
Founding the first nocturnal kindergarten right on top of my upstairs neighbor. That, or a Flamenco dance academy.

I feel most like myself when I ….
When I’m with the people I love.

What is your best escape?
Life would be unbearable without a sense of humor. Then there’s music, books, cinema, the sea, and the most beautiful place in the world: a town in Mexico called Valle de Bravo.

What’s the one thing nobody knows about you?
Back in the 1920s, I created a time-traveling device that would take me to the 21st century. The problem is, I lost the keys and now I’m stuck in the digital age. Email me if you find my keys.

Olga de la Fuente was born and raised in Mexico City. Has an M.F.A. in Dramatic Writing from NYU, Tisch School of the Arts, where she was awarded a Dean’s Fellowship. Has written for television and theatre (7 sins in 60 minutes), as well as the occasional film review. Currently developing an animated television show and a web series.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.