Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Week in Review, May 21-27, 2012


LPTW’s Blog30 was created to highlight the diversity, passion and brilliance of the individual members of the League of Professional Theatre Women in celebration of the organization’s 30th Anniversary. Every Sunday, the women featured in the previous six days, as well as three others from our first two months, receive a little more attention, a second chance for readers to learn about them. Sunday is often a day for reflection, offering the opportunity to catch up on the previous week’s activities. Now, the Week in Review gives our readers the opportunity to experience a week’s entries in one easy sitting. We hope you enjoy the latest addition to Blog30.

I never get tired of analyzing various forms of love. Saviana Stanescu, May 21

I had five lines, saw a big black box with levers offstage right, said “What’s that?”, was told it was the light board, ran the board for the next production and never set foot onstage again. – Judith Binus, May 22

I am a black belt in Judo. – Joyce Liao, May 23

Singing – no matter where, it makes me happy and calms all my stresses. – Marie Ann Chenevey, May 24

From the Archives:
The scope of my cultural umbrella widened and prompted me in later years to become an advocate, a cultural mender, a “cultural agitator” as Martha had called me.  – Joyce Maio, February 3

In fact, playing Amanda in Glass Menagerie at the wise old age of 15 helped me realize that I HAD to be in the theater for the rest of my life (saying the lines “deception, deception, deception” was one of the most divine moments of my young life). – Antoinette LaVecchia, February 9

What play or production changed your life?  Bruce Springsteen in concert with the E Street Band. – Caridad Svich, February 11

My work has been generated by listening, particularly to older people whose lives have been dramatic.  – Julia Pascal, February 17

My love of music covers a wide range–classical, new music (from Stravinsky to Steve Reich), fusion, folk, Latin, and I love country! – Joanne Pottlitzer, February 2

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.