Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Archive for the day “May 4, 2012”

Lucy Wang

Lucy Wang, member of the League of Professional Theatre WomenWriter, Performance Artist/Comedian, Sensuous Gourmet
Los Angeles, California USA

Where do you look for inspiration?
Anywhere I can get it.  Truth is, inspiration often finds me, tickling my senses, knocking me off guard, daring me to go beyond what I know, or just learned, to discover what I want to know or experience next.

Is there anything you still dream of doing?
After years of being mistaken as a stand-up comic, I recently started doing stand-up comedy and performing my own work on stage.  It’s been thrilling, several people told me they laughed so hard they almost peed in their pants. A terrifying compliment like that has me dreaming of doing my own one-woman show and hanging out with Jerry Seinfeld.

What is your best escape?
My alter ego, The Sensuous Gourmet.  Food and me, we’re enablers.  Love to eat, eat to love, write to eat, eat to write.  It’s a luscious cycle.

Favorite Cocktail?
Mixology has become such an art, that I’m experimenting, especially since my garden often taxes me with an overabundance of produce. Just made a cantaloupe basil martini that my guests loved.  But when I just want to chill, nothing beats a spicy Bloody Mary with a leafy celery stalk and a jumbo shrimp.

I feel most like myself when I’m at the gym, facing all those weights and mirrors. Dig deeper, run faster, towards the “green light, the orgiastic future that year by year recedes us.” (F. Scott Fitzgerald)

Lucy Wang: Former Wall Street bond trader & Deputy Chief of Staff NYC Mayor. Awards include Kennedy Center Fund for New American Plays, Best New Play from the Katherine and Lee Chilcote Foundation, Berrilla Kerr Foundation, James Thurber Fellowship, Annenberg Beach House Writer in Residence. Original Works Publishing, JAC Publishing, Amazon.

Post Navigation