Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Archive for the day “May 13, 2012”

Week in Review, May 7 – 13, 2012


LPTW’s Blog30 was created to highlight the diversity, passion and brilliance of the individual members of the League of Professional Theatre Women in celebration of the organization’s 30th Anniversary. Every Sunday, the women featured in the previous six days, as well as three others from our first two months, receive a little more attention, a second chance for readers to learn about them. Sunday is often a day for reflection, offering the opportunity to catch up on the previous week’s activities. Now, the Week in Review gives our readers the opportunity to experience a week’s entries in one easy sitting. We hope you enjoy the latest addition to Blog30.

[Bali] was an extreme place to spend some time during an extreme period in anyone’s life, young adulthood, and I think I have unfinished business there. – Alice Reagan, May 7

A financial adviser recently asked me, “When do you want to retire?” “I don’t,” I said. – Sandra M. Bloom, May 8

The first thing I remember – the very first thing to wake me up to theater – was Aunt Eller charging onto stage with an egg beater in her hand yelling at the salesman who sold it to her. – Vanda, May 9

In my career as a director, I’ve had the most fun when I can explode the staging outside the proscenium arch. – Melanie Sutherland, May 10

What is your best escape? General Hospital. – Andrea Kuchlewska, May 11

Theater of the Absurd was funny in the 60’s when I first worked with it, today it is the nature of it all. – Maxine Kern, May 12

From the Archives:
Being tuned in to the environment around you can open doors to new ideas, whether it be a song that catches your ear, an amazing piece of art, the way the sun hits the water, an incredible performance or production, a link to an interesting article on Twitter, good TV like Mad Men, bad TV like anything on E!, coffee with a friend, deliciously prepared food, the lights of a city, the quiet of the country, a deep sleep. – Michelle Haines, January 28

My best escape is in the company of my nephews and nieces – they have energy to burn and imaginations to enjoy. – Paula McFetridge, January 29

Something no one knows about me? I am deathly afraid of clowns. – Shaun Bennet Wilson, February 1


Post Navigation