Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Archive for the day “March 11, 2012”

Week in Review, March 5 – 11, 2012

LPTW’s Blog30 was created to highlight the diversity, passion and brilliance of the individual members of the League of Professional Theatre Women in celebration of the organization’s 30th Anniversary. As theatre artists, administrators, and crew, we often work on productions that morph, develop and/or change mid-stream; Blog30 is no different. Last week, we kicked off the new Week in Review.

Every Sunday, the women featured in the previous six days, as well as three others from our first two months, will receive a little more attention, a second chance for readers to learn about them. Sunday is often a day for reflection, offering the opportunity to catch up on the previous week’s activities. Now, the Week in Review gives our readers the opportunity to experience a week’s entries in one easy sitting. We hope you enjoy the latest addition to Blog30.

I am most myself when I am in between writing on my fainting sofa and my accordion. – Ruth Margraff, March 5

When an entire audience is moved deeply, sometimes to tears, that moment becomes a kind of communion unlike any other experience! – Carol K. Mack, March 6

My life was changed; a producer was born. – Jacki Barlia Florin, March 7

Nothing I saw before or have seen since can compare with their moment-to-moment emotional connection to the roles and each other. – Alexis Greene, March 8

It was the most reassuring thing I had ever read, that the writer of the play that had just blown my mind still considered it unfinished. – Theresa Giacopasi, March 9

I don’t know what I am, ideas racing, and the veins of poetry buzzing in my ears. – Sophia Romma, March 10

From the Archives:

I am always inspired by kindness and empathy, particularly on an overcrowded subway! – Romy Nordlinger, January 3

I went to Emerson College in Boston, MA, and while I was a student I saved the Wilbur Theatre, a legitimate commercial theater, from being torn down. – Tobie S. Stein, Ph.D., January 10

Even inside us, we rediscover the same hills that have to be climbed and the same fields of abundant, blooming fruit and flowers all the time; it is only how we experience it that changes. – Shellen Lubin, January 17

Post Navigation