Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Archive for the day “March 18, 2012”

Week in Review, March 12 – 18, 2012


LPTW’s Blog30 was created to highlight the diversity, passion and brilliance of the individual members of the League of Professional Theatre Women in celebration of the organization’s 30th Anniversary. As theatre artists, administrators, and crew, we often work on productions that morph, develop and/or change mid-stream; Blog30 is no different, and so was born the Week in Review.

Every Sunday, the women featured in the previous six days, as well as three others from our first two months, will receive a little more attention, a second chance for readers to learn about them. Sunday is often a day for reflection, offering the opportunity to catch up on the previous week’s activities. Now, the Week in Review gives our readers the opportunity to experience a week’s entries in one easy sitting. We hope you enjoy the latest addition to Blog30.

I feel most like myself when I have the opportunity to ply my old trade – get up and sing a tune – Sandi Durell, March 12

The last 20 years have been so caught up in work and single parenthood, that part of me just wants to get a sleeping bag, and a suitcase and just…well go. – Jessica Litwak, March 13

My most recent accomplishment is that in 18 months i have paid down $200,000 of my $250,000 deficit by renting my mainstage and studio theaters! Woo hooooo!!!! Yeah baby!! – Angelina Fiordellisi, March 14

If I tell you the one thing nobody knows about me, it won’t be any more, but I do like to dance in the aisles at Gristedes. – Nancy Ford, March 15

Where do you look for inspiration? It comes unannounced! – Mira J Spektor, March 16

Born in small town Iowa, I felt suffocated growing up. Ibsen made me believe I could be free and create life for myself. – Shirley Lauro, March 17

From the Archives:
During my four years of study with Joan and Bob, the co-ed theatre majors lived and worked as a company; playing small roles as freshmen, taking on the larger parts as we developed, in plays by Brecht, Shakespeare, Genet, Ionesco, Giraudoux, Albee and more. – Linda Chapman, January 4,

The nicest compliment a friend ever paid me was, “I know no one who appreciates more than you the little things in life”. – Dorothy Leeds, January 11

It sounds cliché, but I too want to help create a better world, one ticket buyer at a time. – Yvette Heyliger, January 18

Post Navigation