Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Archive for the day “March 14, 2012”

Angelina Fiordellisi

Angelina Fiordellisi, member of the League of Professional Theatre WomenFounder, Artistic Director of Cherry Lane Alternative since 1997; Executive Director, Cherry Lane Theatre since 1996; Actress, Dancer, Singer since age 4! 
New York, New York USA

My favorite books are The Last Temptation of Christ by Nikos Kazantzakis and Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann.

My favorite line from a play is “Let us not waste our time in idle discourse! (Pause. Vehemently.) Let us do something, while we have the chance! It is not every day that we are needed. But at this place, at this moment of time, all mankind is us, whether we like it or not. Let us make the most of it, before it is too late!” ~Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

My favorite guilty pleasure is getting a pedicure.

My favorite drink is an Agave Stinger!

My most recent accomplishment is that in 18 months I have paid down $200,000 of my $250,000 deficit by renting my mainstage and studio theaters! Woo hooooo!!!! Yeah baby!!

The most gratifying/satisfying thing for me today is to look at the young women who work at Cherry Lane with me, who are so beautiful, intelligent, talented, committed and hopeful. These young women keep me going through all the challenges of running an Off-Broadway not-for-profit company and maintaining a Landmarked building with rent-controlled tenants.

The most exciting thing for me today is to watch a new play grow from the seedling of an idea, to its first reading, to rehearsal run thrus, to opening night before its first audience, and then to the closing after the play has grown immeasurably. This feels to me to be the greatest triumph. Each phase is a wonder and delight. This is when I thank prime creatoress and all the angels and saints that I am a participant with significant contributions to the creative process, in the theater, in the most electrifying, challenging and exciting community on the planet.

Angelina Fiordellisi was born in Detroit, Michigan, by Italian immigrants Stefano and Caterina. Broadway debut with Anthony Quinn, Lela Kedrova in Zorba. Married Matt Williams, stayed home to raise Matisse and Fred. Acquired, restored the Cherry Lane Theatre, founded not-for-profit company to create programs for playwrights and produce Off-Broadway classics.

Post Navigation