Blog30

Celebrating the members of the League of Professional Theatre Women

Archive for the day “March 12, 2012”

Sandi Durell

Sandi Durell, member of the League of Professional Theatre WomenTheatre & Cabaret Critic, Producer
New York, New York USA

My inspiration comes daily as world events keep spiraling and it’s like “beat the clock” – continue to have even a small voice in a cluttered society in my areas of joy and pleasure; music and theatre and the fun of tennis, art, travel.

I guess it’s called “my bucket list.”

There is no one favorite book in my cart as many are worthwhile and inspirational. However, I continue to get lost in the nostalgic pleasures of “The Wizard of Oz” movie (was it actually a gentler time?).

Here’s a line from William Shakespeare’s All’s Well that Ends Well that has particular meaning – “No legacy is so rich as honesty.”

Pop culture guilty pleasure? Hmmmm – think, think. I don’t have any! But I do love Margaritas!

Plays or productions that change lives are multi-facted. As I think about the variety of productions I’ve seen over many years, if the content and acting is really good, I can get lost in it. Once that happens, I (as many others) will make comparisons as to how we view a person or situation, would we have a similar response, feel more or less challenged, important, demeaned, functional or dysfunctional. I believe good theatre (and movies) has tremendous influence on its viewers; sometimes as a healing factor, sometimes as brainwashing – telling us how to behave, what to think, feel, fear, love, hate. Like the media!

I’ve always had this dream of becoming a lawyer – they do rule our society, don’t they? However, I feel most like myself when I have the opportunity to ply my old trade – get up and sing a tune.

When I want to escape, I watch old movies. Love ’em.

What’s the one thing nobody knows about me? It’s probably more than one thing. But I am very pragmatic.

Sandi Durell currently reviews theatre for Examiner.com, is Managing Editor/Cabaret Critic for Times Square Chronicles and produces, with partner Shari Upbin (ShaRell Productions), the revues Broadway Live! and Hollywood Live! booked nationwide. She is also a Drama Desk & Outer Critics Circle Voter.

Post Navigation